House allowance is paid on a monthly basis to all teachers. It is paid on two criteria; Job grade and workstation. Teachers in higher job groups earn a higher house allowance than those in lower cadres. The salaries and remuneration commission has also clustered teachers’ work station into four regions. Teachers working in Nairobi and towns that were formerly municipalities draw the largest amount of house allowance whereas those plying their trade in reserves (other areas) receive the lowest amounts. The following is the list of  regions with schools which have been mapped under municipality.

  1. Nairobi
ALSO READ:  Top 10 TSC Job Interview Questions and Expected Answers

Not all schools in the capital are mapped under municipalities. Only schools in the following regions in Nairobi that have been mapped under municipality by SRC. They include;

  • Westlands
  • Dagoretti
  • Kasarani
  • Langata
  • Starehe
  • Kamukunji
  • Embakasi
  • Njiru
  • Makadara

Former Major Municipalities include Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Nyeri, Eldoret, Thika, Kisii, Malindi and Kitale.

ALSO READ:  TSC approved subject Combinations for Science and Arts 2021/2022

Other former Municipalities are Ruiru, Kikuyu, Kitui, Machakos, Mlolongo, Athi River, Vihiga, Wote, Mumias, Bomet, Limuru, Kericho, Kimilili, Kakamega, Kapsabet, Kiambu, Bungoma, Webuye, Busia, Runyenjes, Migori, Embu, Homa Bay, Lodwar, Meru, Nyahururu, Nanyuki, Maua, Voi, Siaya, Chuka and Kerugoya.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here